Kenmore Square & The Fenway of Boston Through Time


Available on backorder


When the Mill Dam, present day Beacon Street, was opened in 1821 between the foot of Beacon Hill and Sewall’s Point, now known as Kenmore Square, the area west of Boston became accessible by land. Previously, the only means of access was by The Neck, a thin strip of land in the South End that connected Boston to the mainland at Roxbury. In the late 19th century, Frederick Law Olmsted transformed the marshland into the Back Bay Fens, which became an integral part of the Emerald Necklace. This book covers prominent Kenmore Square buildings like the Hotel Buckminster, built in 1897 facing the prominent square, along with ease of transportation, which led to early residential and large hotels. With apartment buildings constructed between 1900 and 1930, the Back Bay Fens evolved into the Fenway neighborhood, with not just accessibility to the city but also with a far more park-like and naturalistic aspect than any other city neighborhood. Today, the area is home to numerous institutions like the Museum of Fine Arts, Harvard Medical School, the iconic Citgo sign, Fenway Park, and much more. 

List Price: $23.95

Additional information

Book Author

Anthony M. Sammarco


Arcadia Publishing




96 pages